Motivation, Anyone?

Wow, can you say… S-O-R-E?!!!!  Supersets, hold and squeeze technique, and using quality rather than quantity are definitely working for these hamstrings and glutes.  Did 30 mins.  of fasted cardio and it was a struggle to walk.  I will definitely be stoping by the sauna today for some nice stretches 🙂

Since it was such a lovely day, I decided to go outside instead of stopping by the gym. Ah, the smell of the morning!  Taking in some natural Vitamin D isn’t bad idea right?

Training last night is focused towards back and lats:  Here’s yesterday’s training:

  • Warmup on the treadmill
  • Barbell backrows
  • One-handed lat pulldown
  • Wide-grip lat pulldown
  • Wide-grip lat pullups
  • One-handed barbell backrows
  • Rear delt flys burnout
  • Cardio: 10 mins on stepmill and 50 mins on the arctrainer

And so, last night, I decided that for my last show of the season, I’ll do the NPC Seminole Classic 2012. http://www.seminoleclassic.com/  It’s 12 weeks out! It’s cut/lean session time!!!

Wow, today’s a full day.  Here’s today’s agenda: 30 mins of fasted cardio, day job, meeting for my 1st website project with another company, head to the gym for shoulders/tris and 60 mins of cardio, and get ready to hit the gym at 5:30 the next day.

This morning, I was thinking about motivation again.  I admit that I’ve always been jealous of individuals who always seem to find motivation from the inside.  I told myself, if others can do it, why can’t you?  Well, came to find out that different personalities have different tendencies on how to find motivation.  Ever heard of extroversion and introversion?

Extroverts are energized by being around other people whereas an introvert is energized by being alone. According to Carole Baine, Board Member of the Indiana Association of the gifted,

“Extroverts tend to ‘fade’ when alone and can easily become bored without other people around. When given the chance, an extrovert will talk with someone else rather than sit alone and think. In fact, extroverts tend to think as they speak, unlike introverts who are far more likely to think before they speak. Extroverts often think best when they are talking. Concepts just don’t seem real to them unless they can talk about them; reflecting on them isn’t enough.

Introverts are more concerned with the inner world of the mind. They enjoy thinking, exploring their thoughts and feelings. They often avoid social situations because being around people drains their energy. This is true even if they have good social skills.”

So what does this have to do with motivation?  Well, as much an extrovert is like a windmill that needs others to keep it moving and an introvert is the self-propelled locomotive, neither personality is better than the other.  It’s just a matter of who you are as a person.

By knowing this, I realize that I am more motivated when I tell everyone what I’m doing and do what I say what I have to do because now I’m held accountable.  I’m more energized I join a group that shares the same goals and helping someone else.  I wish I was just like a self-propelled locomotive. But I’m not. And I should be happy with that. And since “I Yam What I Yam”, might as well make the most of who I am rather wish I am who I’m not.

I <3 comments! So please leave me your thoughts and it would make my day :)

