The Art of Mastery

John Butz posted up a great article today called  Genetics and Hard Work By Mike Tuchscherer .  He made a great point that despite genetics, what makes a champion athlete is hard work.  Author Malcom Gladwell wrote that “it takes 10,000  hours of dedicated practice” to be a achieve mastery in his book, Outliers. And the most fantastic thing is that I’ve been thinking about this earlier this morning – what makes a winner?

Prior to discovering my passion of fitness, I have been involved in numerous activities – from art to piano playing to programming to bowling, etc. When interest catches my attention, I tend to focus. And with the sharp focus, I would spend hours on end trying to master what it is that I’m focusing on. In turn, my artworks have been displayed in galleries and gained an AA degree even before I finished high school.  I’ve performed in orchestras, recitals, and invited to study in the prestigious Westminster. I’ve won many science, programming, and mathematical awards. And I was on top of the bowling team. Many would say I’m lucky that I’m so multifaceted. But I don’t think it’s because of that. Indeed, having an affinity for learning helps. But bottom line, it’s hard work, dedication, and simply pursuing your passion is what’s going to shake the world. To make a mark anywhere, you have to have the courage to think outside the box and really focus on what you love.

Lately, I have been focused in juggling work, training, and school.  But what’s new?  I’ve been doing this for some time.  However, I have taken an additional responsibility at work while we find another printing/graphics designer to fill the position.  Life feels out-of-balanced since I’ve spent so much time at work and not enough attending to many different parts of my life.

And what’s more, I promised my sister that I’ll take care of her dogs while she’s away for a couple of weeks to Europe with her husband.  They’re great dogs. But I’m just not used to having to wake up extra early or come home earlier than usual. It threw off my schedule. But instead of wallowing in self-pity of what I put myself into, I decided to make it work. So with working overtime, taking care of dogs, training, and trying to squeeze in school in between has been challenging. But I love challenges!

Last night, I went to the gym to hit my hamstrings, glutes, quads, calves, and back.

Here’s the workout:

  • Leg Extensions
  • Stiff-legged Deadlifts with Barbell
  • Leg Curls
  • Stiff-legged Deadlifts with Kettlebell
  • Calf Presses
  • One-legged Reverse Lunges on the Smith Machine
  • Pull-Ups
  • Cardio: Stair Master

It felt awesome seeing my leg muscles twitch! Yes, break them apart so they’ll grow nice and big. 😀 (I’m mean to my legs)

My carb intake has taken a plunge to 90g per day.  I like it much better because it’s more feasible. I don’t feel as bloated

My biggest feat right now is losing 3″ off my waist!!! Woohoo! I’m losing inches a lot faster than I thought!!! So I may have to readjust my suit a bit O.o But that’s ok! I’ll be coming in tighter!!!

When was the last time I’ve said, I LOVE JUGGERNAUT! I’m still with my favorite babe – Juggernaut HP Pink Lemonade.  Even with Juggernaut Raspberry Lemonade on board, I can’t stray too far from my fave.  I’m really loving the Infinite Force. However, I’m thinking of making a switch back to BCAA.  They give me far better results during cutting time. Then, I can’t wait to try the watermelon-flavored Infinite Force.  I’m also getting Final Cutz this time around – see which is better Phenyl Core or Final Cutz… dun dun dun.

My manager is M-E-A-N!!! He knows I’m on a diet and just HAS to bring this to work!  I took a pic of it b/c it lasts longer sans the extra calories, fat, and spiking of the insulin! Good thing smelling them isn’t too bad… 😀

I <3 comments! So please leave me your thoughts and it would make my day :)

